Jack in the Box tacos : soy or beef?

On the heels of the controversy regarding Taco Bell’s “beef” tacos being predominantly made from soy, we offer a story from the opposite perspective.  Read one vegetarian’s experience with Jack in the Box tacos.

This post comes from Soy Happy amigo, Paul Schowalter:

Gather ‘round kids, and hear the story of how Uncle Paul ate beef for the first time in 15 years…….

OK, so me and a couple of friends came home from a party.  Instead of going to bed, we started craving food.  Tacos seemed like the logical choice since it was around 1:00 in the morning.  So we got back in the car and headed to Jack in the Box.  I don’t eat beef or pork and I generally prefer a vegetarian option if it is available.  My friend mentions that her daughter was a vegetarian and always ate Jack tacos because they were soy, not beef.  I love soy tacos, so this was wonderful news to me.  But I’m skeptical.

When we get there, the menu has no mention of “beef” tacos, they are called just “tacos.”  This evidence supported my friend’s theory because what burger place would advertise a soy product?  So I’m leaning.  Then I ask the girl at the counter if there is beef in the tacos.  “No,” she says,”they are soy. That’s how we keep the cost so low.”  So my friend’s vegetarian daughter says they are soy, the menu doesn’t mention any beef, the person working at the restaurant confirms they are soy, and I’m drunk (don’t worry I didn’t drive.)  The verdict is in…let’s eat!  So I inhale 3 tacos in a matter of seconds.

The next day I fly home, sober up, and question what I did.  A Google search reveals several matches for this very topic.  1/3 of the sites claim the tacos are beef and 1/3 claim the tacos are soy.  The remaining 1/3 are porn sites that come up no matter what you type in the search box.  But the truth is somewhere in between…there’s not enough cow in the tacos to call them “beef” but there is some, so they aren’t vegetarian either.  A couple of websites claimed that Jack enjoys the vagueness because omnivores think they are eating beef and vegetarians think they are eating soy.  To Jack’s credit, the ingredients are listed on their website, and they don’t lie on their menus like Taco Bell is alleged to be doing.

I didn’t do my research so I’m mostly mad at myself, but I didn’t appreciate being misled by the employee.  I had stayed away from beef for over 15 years and my streak gets derailed because of a couple of cheap tacos?  I’m surprised I didn’t get sick, which may be a testament to how little beef is actually in those things.

I wrote a nastygram to Jack and they responded right away and invited me to call them.  I called and they were very apologetic and wanted to know exactly what store we were at and what time we were there so they could educate their employees.  The person on the phone seemed sincere so I don’t have a problem with how they handled it.  And she offered me some coupons for free food, which was nice, but they never arrived.  It seemed fitting.

15 thoughts on “Jack in the Box tacos : soy or beef?”

  1. That’s good. Paul did also mention this in his post. The issue for him was that the employee at the counter wasn’t aware of it. Hopefully, their employees are better informed now and can tell customers that beef is included as an ingredient in those tacos.

  2. I just had some today. I decieded after i eat them, i would look it up. I have asked everytime i go to jack in the box they never know. i asked if it might be garbonzo beans. She didn’t know. So I asked if it was the pink slime we have been hearing about lately. I figure if it is a secret it can’t be good or they would breg they know ( which part of the beast it is.)

  3. I justed called jack in the box and asked them what does their tacos contains and they said its made of soy beef

  4. You must be allergic to beef if you think it will make you sick, because beef is nutritious. I said beef, not hormones and antibiotics. I read a story written by a vegetarian once, about visiting a retirement home and being offered a piece of processed swiss while he was in one man’s apartment. I guess his commitment to good manners were stronger than his commitment to vegetarianism, because even though he insisted he doesn’t eat animal products, let alone processed ones, the man insisted harder and he gave in. It so happened this vegetarian was coming down with cold and flu like symptoms that week, and he was amazed when they’d cleared up that same day after eating even the minimal cheese cultures that weren’t processed out of that slice. We benefit from eating animal products.

  5. haha…. your “streak gets derailed”??? Like you’re going for a record or something? Bro, if you don’t want to eat meat, then don’t eat meat… just because you were unaware there was beef in some tacos, ummm, you didn’t get sick so who cares? And if you’re non-meat for animal rights purposes (which in my mind is the only reason to be veggie only) well, your friend was uninformed and it was a mistake… by you not eating those tacos you wouldn’t make an iota of difference in the animal kingdom. I wouldn’t worry about your “streak”. Like it’s something to brag about while trying to hook up with fellow vegans on tinder? LOL

  6. I totally get why he would care about his streak, it’s like someone who quits smoking and has a cigarette while drinking, it’s still a disappointing end to a streak of intentional abstention. At least he’s not like that ubervegan who threw a bitch fit when he found out he had eaten a small amount of cheese. Endlessly entertaining, but only because of what an absolute tool the guy is.

  7. I know someone who works at Jack in the Box and I asked her to look at the ingredients on the package the taco meat came in. She said it said beef and chicken, no mention of soy at all. She also told me her manager instructs them to tell customers the tacos are soy but they really are not. I am going to aske her to take a picture of the packaging for proof so I can post it and everyone will know the truth.

  8. Taco, Regular Filling Ingredients: Beef, Chicken, Water, Textured Vegetable Protein (Soy Flour,
    Caramel Color), Defatted Soy Grits, Seasoning (Chili Pepper, Corn Maltodextrin, Spices, Bleached
    Enriched Wheat Flour [Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, and Folic Acid], Salt,
    Garlic Powder, Hydrolyzed Corn, Soy, and Wheat Proteins, Monosodium Glutamate, Onion Powder,
    Natural Flavors, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Succinic Acid), Salt, Tomato Paste,
    Worcestershire Sauce (Distilled Vinegar, Molasses, Corn Syrup, Water, Salt, Caramel Color, Garlic
    Powder, Sugar, Spices, Tamarind, Natural Flavor, Sulfiting Agent). Tortilla Ingredients: Ground Corn,
    Water, Lime. Cooked in Canola Blend Frying Oil. Contains Soy, Wheat

  9. Well Jack in the Box tacos do make me sick cause they contain three ingredients I am allergic to which are Gluten, monosodium glutamate (MSG) and soy.

  10. Also….my friends and I have asked employees at Jack in the box for last 25 years and they either said ty have no idea or usually say the are made of soy. All the fiends I have that are vegetarian but still eat junk food sometimes do eat these tacos cause their friends and Jack in the Box employees have all told them there is no beef.

  11. Here’s some food for thought, people who have gout cannot have beef. Gout causes SEVERE pain. I think it’s sad that some comments on here are scoffing at the ones who expressed they don’t eat beef. Unless you know the reasons you really shouldn’t be judging. Thankfully, some can have small amounts of beef and these tacos do not have a lot of meat in them. However, just because you don’t understand why something is important to someone, it doesn’t give you the right to try to make them feel less than or stupid for feeling that way. Beef isn’t healthy for everyone so keep that in mind and educate yourselves before you sound insensitive and ignorant.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *